for SATB and Piano

Duration: 5'

Lucy is based on text from the Lucy Poems by William Wordsworth. The lines I chose for this piece intend to convey the idea that the main subject, Lucy, was was not fully appreciated until after she was gone. 

This use of text was prompted by my reflection on how many people, especially those of a younger age, relate to the feeling of being overlooked and wanting to feel that they matter while they find their purpose or place in society. I wanted to write a piece of music that would capture this sentiment. 

The final text of this piece, “My time will yet come,” is a quote famously attributed to composer Gustav Mahler, who could perhaps relate to this feeling as well as any of us. The intention of this line is to conclude the music with a sense of hope and purpose.

PDF-Perusal Score

(not for performance use)

Single Score (PDF): $10

This score is watermarked as belonging to a single person. It is not permitted to be copied.

Multiple Scores (PDF): $30

This score is watermarked for use by a full choir. Unlimited copying is permitted for use by the purchasing ensemble.

Note: Purchased items will be emailed with the buyer's information engraved. To reduce cost for you and your ensemble, scores and parts are available only via PDF. If you would like hard copies printed and mailed to you for an additional fee, please use the CONTACT page.