top of page

Lucy for Brass Choir and Piano

(arr. 2018)
Duration: 5'
Part of The Chamber Winds Project

Lucy (originally written for SATB and piano) is based on text from the Lucy Poems by William Wordsworth. The lines I chose for this piece intend to convey the idea that the main subject, Lucy, was was not fully appreciated until after she was gone.


This use of text was prompted by my reflection on how many people, especially those of a younger age, relate to the feeling of being overlooked and wanting to feel that they matter as they find their purpose or place in society. I wanted to write a piece of music that would capture this sentiment.


The final text of this piece, “My time will yet come,” is a quote famously attributed to composer Gustav Mahler. When his music was met with harsh criticism, he could perhaps relate to this feeling of being overlooked as well as any of us. Now with his compositions being well-known across the globe, it seems that his prediction came true. The intention of this line is to conclude the music with a sense of hope and purpose.

PDF-Perusal Score

(not for performance use)

bottom of page